Verlon McKay '61, 2012 recipient of the President's Medal

Verlon McKay President's Medal recipient

Verlon McKay '61, 2012 President's Medal recipient, and WSU President John Bardo in California where McKay serves as the president and secretary of the Sam and Rie Bloomfield Foundation.

For more than 20 years a Wichita State president has selected an individual who exemplifies “humility and interest in others and especially for extraordinary and exemplary leadership through integrity, service to humanity, and expertise in her or his field.” Verlon McKay, the recipient for 2012, is no different.

   “As president and secretary of the Sam and Rie Bloomfield Foundation, Verlon played an invaluable role in providing critical support to Wichita State University,” said WSU President John Bardo. “Historically, I understand that Verlon’s approach has been: ‘What can we do to help further Wichita State while honoring Sam and Rie and their areas of interest?’ and that continues today. Though he lives in California, Verlon is a stellar example of an alumnus who recognizes and values the education he received at WSU.”

"To be selected for the award has created an unbelievable positive feeling for me."

- Verlon McKay, 2012 President's Medal recipient

   McKay and his fellow trustees have authorized support from the Bloomfield Foundation for faculty chairs and a lecture series in the College of Engineering, an organ series in the College of Fine Arts and faculty fellows and scholarships in the Barton School of Business.

   “I am deeply honored and humbled by receiving the WSU President's Medal for 2012, particularly when there are so many others who could have been selected for this prestigious award,” said McKay.

   “Sam Bloomfield, an aeronautical engineer and one of the founders of Swallow Aircraft, believed strongly in Wichita State’s commitment and benefit to the overall Wichita community. Therefore, the trustees of the Sam and Rie Bloomfield Foundation have a major goal of helping current Wichita State students graduate and become successful in their chosen professions. I know that my degree in business gave me the opportunity to succeed in the professional business world.”

   McKay said that he has enjoyed working with the staff at the university and the WSU Foundation, and that all the trustees are pleased with the stewardship of the Bloomfields’ contributions.

   “The President's Medal for 2012 is being accepted by me in memory of Sam and Rie Bloomfield, and Paul Mahan, the original trustees of the Bloomfield Foundation,” said McKay.

   The award will be presented to McKay during the 2012-13 WSU Commencement in-absentia.

President's Medal Recipients

  Verlon McKay
William B. Moore
Francis "Fran" D. Jabara
Daniel M. Carney
Velma Lunt Wallance
  Bonnie Bing
True Knowles
James L. Mann
M. Dean Hargrove and John Edward Hurley Jr.
Gordon Parks
  John Morse
Marni Vliet
Marilyn B. Pauly
Donald D. Sbarra
Olive Ann Beech
  Nancy Martin
Charles G. Koch
Michael C. Oatman
No award
H. Marvin Bastian
  Barry Schwan
Robert A. Geist
Jerry D. Florence
Lionel D. Alford
Oliver B. Elliot
Connect With Us:

 Pinterest  Google Plus Instagram


Wichita State University Foundation

1845 Fairmount St., Wichita, KS 67260-0002
Phone: 316-978-3040 | Fax: 316-978-3277

© 2014 Wichita State University Foundation

Wichita State University Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization and donations are tax-deductible to the full extent allowed by law.