Wichita State University Foundation hosts 2011 Fairmount Society Dinner


2011 Fairmount Society Dinner award recipients
Photo by David Dinell
(l-r) J.V. Lentell, 2011 recipient of the Board of Trustees' Award, and his wife, Karen Lentell, Larry Beamer and Debbie Haynes, 2011 recipients of the Fairmount Founders' Award, with WSU First Lady Shirley Beggs and WSU President Donald Beggs gather before the program at the WSU Foundation’s Fairmount Society Dinner May 5 at the Wichita Marriott.

Nearly 200 people attended the annual Wichita State University Foundation Fairmount Society Dinner May 5 at the Wichita Marriott to pay tribute to the evening’s award winners, J.V. Lentell, recipient of the 2011 Board of Trustees’ Award, and Debbie Haynes and Larry Beamer, recipients of the 2011 Fairmount Founders’ Award. Friends of the winners were previously videotaped, telling how they believed the winners impacted the university and the community. Those videos were played during the program.

 The event also recognized three new lifetime achievement members, three new lifetime members and nine new annual members to the society. A new giving level was introduced this year, lifetime distinction, whose members have contributed $500,000 or more during their lifetimes. There were 24 new members honored. The dinner also was another opportunity to thank all current Fairmount Society members for their support of the university.

University President Donald Beggs and WSU Board of Trustees Vice Chair Tom Winters presented the Board of Trustees’ Award to Lentell. Beggs and WSU Foundation Board of Directors Chair Craig Barton presented the Fairmount Founders’ Award to Haynes and Beamer.

Honored as new lifetime achievement members were Dan and Gayla Carney, The Delta Dental of Kansas Foundation and INTRUST Bank. Lifetime achievement membership is extended to donors whose total outright giving is $1 million or more.

Members to the new lifetime distinction level were George and Virginia Ablah, Harry Bledsoe, William and Dorothy Cohen, Virginia H. Farah Foundation, Jean Garvey, Curt Gridley and Tracy Hoover, R. Dee and Joan Hubbard, Fran and Geraldine Jabara, Emylou Keith, Charles and Elizabeth Koch, Jim and Lorraine Mann, Shannon Michaud, J. Dean Rickman, Lee Riley, Leslie and Susie Rudd, Spirit AeroSystems Inc., Ralph and Sue Vautravers, Via Christi Health, Donald Walenta, Anna Kathleen Walsh, Wesley Medical Center, Flossie E. West Memorial Trust, Wichita Symphony Society and the K.T. Wiedemann Foundation Inc.

Recognized for their contributions as new life members of the Fairmount Society were Beggs and First Lady Shirley Beggs, Commerce Bank and Midwest Plastics Supply. Life membership is offered to donors who have contributed $250,000 or more in a lifetime.

Annual members donate a minimum of $20,000 during the fiscal year. Recognized for their gifts were Sarah and Bruce Cooper, Michael Heaston, Ann and Robert O’Bleness, PH Property LLC, Beverly and James Rhatigan, Duane Shook, Joyce Smith, Lois Ruth Swan Trust and Women of Wichita Charitable Foundation.

To share a student’s perspective of university life was Marcus McNeal, a WSU sophomore majoring in international business with minors in economics and finance. Entertainment for the evening was provided by the WSU Madrigal Singers directed by Tom Wine, professor of Music Education and director of Choral Activities.

Underwriters for this event were Armstrong|Shank, Intake Studio, Mastholm Asset Management LLC, Speece Thorson Capital Group Inc., Bank of the West, Commerce Bank, Fidelity Bank, Fund Evaluation Group, Times Square Management and Roxbury Capital.

View the Lentell and Haynes/Beamer videos on the 2011 Fairmount Society Web page.

© 2014 Wichita State University Foundation

Wichita State University Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization and donations are tax-deductible to the full extent allowed by law.