Notable Donor News

Wichita State University Foundation

Major Gift Highlights

The WSU Foundation received $35,000 or more at one time from these individuals, corporations, foundations and estates between Aug. 15 and Dec. 15, 2021. Areas of giving are listed with their names. We appreciate their contributions.

Craig Barton
Speaker Series

Karen and Donald Baxter
WSU Athletics

Ilene Bomhoff
Scholarship – Digital Arts

Quincalee Brown and Jay Simsarian
Scholarship – Debate

Gus and Mary Campuzano
Shocker Success Center

Jim and Kim Gillespie
Scholarship – Education

Kent Hemberger

Julia Hoppes
General Support – Music

Chase Koch
WSU Athletics

Wen and Silver Kung
Shocker Success Center

Todd and Julie Lair
Shocker Success Center
Technology Fund – Business

Julia D. Laster Estate
Scholarships – Health Professions, Education

Virginia Lytle
Scholarship – General

Jim and Lorraine Mann
Scholarship – General

Roger McClure
Scholarship – General

Don Nance and Pennie Myers
Scholarship – General

Stev Overstreet
Scholarship – Criminal Justice

Loretta Pendergraft
Scholarships – Engineering, Communication

Gerry Sibley Estate
Scholarship – Engineering
Scholarship – Business

Bill and Cathy Simon
Physics Research

Jay and Debbie Smith
Scholarship – Education

Dalton Stanfield
Biology Research

Helen and Nelson Toburen
Scholarships – LAS

Society of 1895 Members

These individuals were named to the Society of 1895 between Aug. 15 and Dec. 15, 2021, by establishing a deferred gift through the WSU Foundation. To become a member, please contact Michael Lamb, WSU Foundation vice president, at 316-978-3804 or

James T. ‘Tom’ (’72) and Terry (’78) Johnson

C. Damon Heckler (’87)

Vickie Glancy Cannon (’93)

Sandra C. Bibb

Scott D. Kern (’73)

Catherine Feemster (’71)

Jay L. (’77) and Debbie R. Vaughn

Robert Briedenthal (‘73) and Susan Crane

Dalton Stanfield (‘16)


New memorials were established or existing funds were selected in honor of the following deceased friends of Wichita State through the WSU Foundation between Aug. 15 and Dec. 15, 2021. To contribute, please contact Phoebe Garcia, at 316-978-3811 or

William ‘Bill’ Butterworth ‘64

Thomas Talbott ‘76

Paul A. Lytle ‘06

Don Killian

Shawnda L. Hubbard ‘90

Dr. Charles Burdsal

George Hockett ‘86

Larry Richardson ‘77

William ‘Bill’ Ellison ‘71

Aleta Gile

Ruth Ann Martin

Emelia ‘Milly’ Gingrich ‘66

Charles Bayles

WSU Foundation News Releases

Welcome to our news feed. Here you'll uncover the latest news happenings and announcements. Journalists on a story deadline can connect with our media relations team below. Lori Linenberger, Director of Communications | | 316.978.6812